Here is what our residents and families say about Lumb Valley

When you're trying to assess how good a care home really is it can be difficult to separate fact from fiction. After all we can all say whatever we want on our websites.

Below are testimonials from our residents, families and visiting health care workers​ that have been left on the www.carehome.co.uk website.

This is completely independent and we cannot influence or change what is said in anyway so you can be sure these are genuine reviews that give an honest and true reflection of life at Lumb Valley.

Not enough words in my first review to express my delight and my wife's pleasure in choosing Lumb Valley Care Home for her mother. As I have said...It's a special place and the right size to give proper time and attention to all the residents. All the staff are able to find adequate levels to communicate to each of the resident's needs. My wife's mother is slowly putting weight on because she's being treated correctly at meal times and encouraged and helped to eat. The meals are in tune with residents preferences...which wasn't the case in hospital, where most food was wasted. There is occasional entertainment which the residents look forward too. I'd like to suggest that all the visitors who arrive for visits to the home ...are encouraged to engage a little on their arrival with all the other residents. Just a wave and a smiley hello would make a big difference to all the residents. The visits will stay with me for a long time. Thank you Staff.

Review relates to May 2019.

How likely would you be to recommend Lumb Valley Care Home? Extremely Likely

Dave H, friend of resident
18 May 2019

My mother has been living at the care home for 15 years. The staff are very friendly and make us feel welcome. I am very happy with the care my mother receives and would recommend it to others.

Review relates to February 2019.

How likely would you be to recommend Lumb Valley Care Home? Extremely Likely

Raymond P, son of resident
27 February 2019

In the past year I moved to Lumb Valley. The staff are lovely and very helpful. I enjoy the food. The food is excellent.

Review relates to February 2019.

How likely would you be to recommend Lumb Valley Care Home? Extremely Likely

Laura K, resident / service user
27 February 2019

The care home provides adequate care but lacks in stimulation and extended facilities. The owner needs to look at management and inclusion of relatives views and opinions. The basic care is very good but could be improved a lot.

Review relates to February 2019.

How likely would you be to recommend Lumb Valley Care Home? Likely

Geoffrey K, relative of resident
26 February 2019

Mum has been in this care home for nearly 15 years, she has been well looked after, we have found it a very friendly home with caring staff.

Review relates to February 2019.

How likely would you be to recommend Lumb Valley Care Home? Extremely Likely

Carole H, daughter of resident
25 February 2019

My friend has been in the care home since October 2018. Since arriving she has become really settled, the care and support she has received has been excellent, nothing appears to be too much trouble for the staff who are very friendly and caring. I would highly recommend this home.

Review relates to February 2019.

How likely would you be to recommend Lumb Valley Care Home? Extremely Likely

Jennifer T, friend of resident
22 February 2019

My mum is a young adult with early onset dementia who has lived in Lumb Valley for the past 3 years. The staff helped my mum settle into the home really well and reassured us as a family. We are really happy with the care mum receives at Lumb Valley and feel reassured that the staff treat her with dignity and respect.

Review relates to February 2019.

How likely would you be to recommend Lumb Valley Care Home? Extremely Likely

Gemma C, daughter of resident
22 February 2019

The staff at Lumb Valley are very friendly and helpful. They make us very welcome, always ask if we would like a drink. Very pleased my mum and I chose Lumb Valley. I live in S. Yorkshire and I feel very happy that my mum is being looked after really well.

Review relates to February 2019.

How likely would you be to recommend Lumb Valley Care Home? Extremely Likely

Susan C, daughter of resident
22 February 2019

Lumb Valley care home has given Mum the best care, love and support. I and my family feel so lucky to have found such a wonderful place. Mum is so happy, I think the owner and staff go above and beyond to make sure the residents have the very best. The meals are lovely, homecooked and always a choice. I visit every day and feel so welcome and it's just 'home'. I can't thank Lumb Valley enough for all their dedication and care. I leave Mum knowing that she is happy, care for, loved and safe. Most of all it's 'home'.

Review relates to February 2019.

How likely would you be to recommend Lumb Valley Care Home? Extremely Likely

Ilse E, daughter of resident
22 February 2019

On my first visit, I was surprised at the amount of equipment the home had to cope with various problems. This was of particular interest to me as my mother-in-law had to go into the home for a specific reason. When I saw the pressure pads in the bedrooms this made my mind up. From the first day, the staff have not been able to do enough for us. Nothing is too much trouble. We even had an invitation to Christmas dinner.

Review relates to February 2019.

How likely would you be to recommend Lumb Valley Care Home? Extremely Likely

B C, son-in-law of resident
22 February 2019

All recommendations have been submitted through the independent website www.CareHome.co.uk and are subject to the carehome.co.uk terms and conditions.